Privacy

The Guide to Document Verification Technology Solutions

Globe icon

The certification, verification and authentication of documents is today based on 3 major technological solutions: 2d doc, electronic signature and Open API.


While each one has advantages and disadvantages, they all meet a very specific need. Archipels positions itself on this market by offering a solution with an innovative economic model, where the customer remains in control of his personal data. 


Discover in this article the different solutions available on the document certification market.


The 2d doc scanner


2d doc: what's this about?


As pointed out by ANTS (the national agency for secured securities), the 2d doc solution aims to "secure the documents used as supporting documents for the opening of private contracts and for the completion of administrative procedures". The idea is relatively simple, since it is a 2D barcode which contains the important information of the document, in particular the electronic signature of the data hash.


Asymmetrical encryption ensures the integrity of signatures through a system of public and private keys: all actors with the public key of the issuing signatory can control this integrity and the data itself is not encrypted.


A scanner or barcode reader is sufficient to verify the signature using the user's public key. The 2d doc solution is particularly used to check the integrity of signatures on documents such as proof of address, proof of income or proof of direct debit.


An effective and almost instantaneous solution... but limited adoption...


Using a QR-code on invoices and documents is an easy process : just scan it to retrieve the important elements of the document and check that the document is in due form. The 2d doc solution works rather efficiently and almost instantaneously with regard to verification and authentication.


One of the limitations of the system is that it is not fully adopted by all issuers of supporting documents, in particular because of the cost of setting up and maintaining it. Indeed, the barcode must be printed on each invoice or PDF document and generated each time: it is therefore a cost without any associated revenue, making it an important cost center for the organization.


At Archipels, we believe that this data should be valued by issuers. A portion of the revenues generated is thus paid back to the issuer. All data and their processing obviously remain in full compliance with the RGPD.


Archipels vs 2d doc: between speed and versatility 


Transmitter side


2d doc is an effective solution to fight against document fraud. However, it is expensive to implement and does not generate income. Therefore, its adoption is entirely at the discretion of issuers of documents with evidentiary value. There is no legal obligation or regulatory constraint that would impose its use. 


Archipels passes on part of the revenue generated to the issuers of the documents. This virtuous business model allows for an easier adoption of the solution. 

Another major difference is that there is no possible revocation of the 2d doc whereas the Archipels solution allows to revoke this authentication if the document is no longer authentic. On paper, the 2d doc remains anchored on the document.


Also, no data on the use of the 2d doc by third parties is available, unlike Archipels, which allows tracking the use of the document. This traceability is a major asset for the issuer. It allows him to have access to useful market data.


Client side


2d doc involves an additional step to check the document: the extraction of data from the document is followed by the extraction of vector data from 2d doc, in order to compare the two. 


Today Archipels allows the customer to verify the authenticity of different types of documents by submitting digital fingerprints via API. The response is then instantaneous and binary, since you will know immediately whether the document is authentic or not.


As you can see, Archipels allows you to check the authenticity of the document immediately, but this requires the original digital document - the native PDF from the issuing partner's customer area. Conversely, verification via 2d doc can be carried out on a scanned or photographed document if the image quality allows it. 


In summary, 2d doc is a versatile solution, usable on different formats of the same document, while the Archipels solution provides a fast execution speed for a smooth integration into the customer's workflow. 


Electronic signature (and digital fingerprinting) tools


Understanding electronic signature and digital fingerprinting


Under European law, an electronic signature is " data in electronic form which is attached to or logically linked with other electronic data and which serves as a method of authentication ".


Let's start with the purpose of the electronic signature in the process of verifying and authenticating documents: this process guarantees the authenticity of the sender of the document and verifies the integrity ofthe document.


Thanks to its non-repudiation function, the electronic signature ensures that the sender has sent the document, he cannot deny it.


A message or document can be said to be signed when it is accompanied by its fingerprint encrypted with the sender's private key. In concrete terms, the digital fingerprint implements a hash function, which consists of generating a shorter message - the fingerprint - that changes at the slightest change to the original file.


It should also be noted that the hash is a one-way hash, since the print of a file does not in any case allow its reconstitution.


The limits of the electronic signature


The electronic signature therefore effectively addresses the problems it addresses - namely, ensuring that the document has been signed by the right person and that it has not been altered. However, its intrinsic characteristics make it unsuitable for certain uses. 


Indeed, its non-repudiation function prevents its revocation in the event that the document is no longer authentic : a new version exists and we want to make sure that it is the latest version that is used. It will be possible to write a new transaction in the Archipels blockchain that would anchor the time-stamped proof that the document is no longer valid. 


Finally, electronic signatures as a solution to ensure the integrity of a set of documents can quickly become expensive. The Archipels solution has been designed to remedy this problem. Our platform makes it possible to verify that a document has not been altered while remunerating the signatory of this document. 


Open API solutions 


Definition of the Open API and Open Banking


The latest major technological solution for document verification, theOpen API, often linked toOpen Banking. What are we talking about?


The DSP2 required banks to develop at least 3 regulatory APIs: account aggregation, payment initiation and balance coverage.


Here we are talking about open banking which refers to the use of Open APIs allowing third party developers to create applications and services around financial institutions.


On the bank side, it is a very interesting and powerful solution to authenticate a profile and check its solvency. It offers a global and real-time vision of the management of a person's money by allowing to see the unpaid, overdrafts, etc..


Like the Credit Score , which is widely used in the United States and is part of accepted practice, Open Banking is designed to assign a score to categorise each client according to the level of risk they pose to the bank. 


A major problem of intrusiveness


By using individuals' login credentials, verification technologies based on the Open API and Open Banking model prove to be highly intrusive. They simply give banking and financial institutions full access to particularly sensitive financial data. 


Indeed, by giving access to his bank account, the user will reveal useful information. For example, if it is his deposit account, the amount of his income will appear there. Institutions using Open Banking will thus be able to check his solvency and therefore his ability to repay a loan. 


In addition to his income, the user will give access to all the transactions that appear on his account - i.e. the amount and location of all his expenses - personal information, considered by many to be confidential. 


Archipels only certifies documents that the end user chooses to provide when entering a customer relationship. 



Whether it is 2d doc, electronic signature or Open API, each solution has its advantages and disadvantages. While most of them allow for improved versatility and easier information sharing, few of them ensure true traceability of the use of personal data. 

Archipels allows instant verification of the authenticity of the document and its integrity. Our solution guarantees the confidentiality of the data while paying the issuer of the document.


Discover our solution

Le guide des solutions technologiques de vérification de documents

Globe icon

La certification, la vérification et l'authentification de documents s'appuient aujourd’hui sur 3 grandes solutions technologiques : 2d doc, la signature électronique et l’Open API.


Si chacune possède des avantages et inconvénients, elles répondent toutes à un besoin bien spécifique. Archipels se positionne sur ce marché en proposant une solution au modèle économique innovant, où le client reste maître de ses données personnelles. 


Découvrez dans cet article les différentes solutions disponibles sur le marché de la certification documentaire.


Le scanner 2d doc


2d doc : de quoi s’agit-il ?


Comme le rappelle l’ANTS (l’agence nationale des titres sécurisés), la solution 2d doc vise à “sécuriser les documents utilisés comme justificatifs pour l’ouverture de contrats privés et pour la réalisation des démarches administratives”. L’idée est relativement simple, puisqu’il s’agit d’un code à barres 2D qui comporte les informations importantes du document, notamment la signature électronique du hash des données.


Un chiffrement asymétrique assure l’intégrité des signatures par un système de clé publique et de clé privée : tous les acteurs disposant de la clé publique du signataire émetteur peuvent contrôler cette intégrité et les données en elles-mêmes ne sont pas chiffrées.


Un scanner ou un lecteur de code à barres suffit pour vérifier la signature à l’aide de la clé publique de l’utilisateur. La solution 2d doc est notamment utilisée pour contrôler l’intégrité des signatures de documents tels que les justificatifs de domicile, les justificatifs de revenu ou encore les justificatifs de domiciliation bancaire.


Une solution efficace et quasi-instantanée… mais une adoption limitée


L’utilisation d’un QR-code sur factures et documents est un processus simple d’utilisation : il n’y a qu’à le scanner pour récupérer les éléments importants du document et vérifier que le document est en bonne et due forme. La solution 2d doc fonctionne plutôt efficacement et de manière quasi instantanée en ce qui concerne la vérification et l’authentification.


L’une des limites du système réside dans le fait qu’il ne soit pas totalement adopté par tous les émetteurs de documents justificatifs, en raison notamment de son coût de mise en place et de maintenance. En effet, il faut imprimer le code-barre sur chaque facture ou document PDF et le générer à chaque fois : il s’agit donc d’un coût sans revenu associé, ce qui en fait un centre de coûts important pour l’organisation.


Chez Archipels, nous pensons que ces données devraient être valorisées par les émetteurs. Une partie des revenus générés est ainsi reversée à l’émetteur. L’intégralité des données et leur traitement restent évidemment en conformité totale avec le RGPD.


Archipels vs 2d doc : entre rapidité et versatilité 


Côté émetteur


2d doc est une solution efficace de lutte contre la fraude documentaire. Elle est cependant coûteuse à mettre en place et ne génère pas de revenu. Aussi, son adoption est entièrement au bon vouloir des émetteurs de documents à valeur probante. Il n’existe aucune obligation légale ou contrainte réglementaire qui imposerait son utilisation. 


Archipels rétrocède une partie des revenus générés aux émetteurs des documents. Ce modèle économique vertueux permet une adoption facilitée de la solution. 

Autre différence majeure, il n’y a pas de révocation possible du 2d doc alors que la solution Archipels permet de révoquer cette authentification si le document ne fait plus foi. Sur papier, le 2d doc reste ancré sur le document.


Également, aucune donnée sur l’utilisation du 2d doc par des tiers n’est disponible, contrairement à Archipels qui permet de suivre l’utilisation du document. Cette traçabilité est un atout majeur pour l’émetteur. Cela lui permet d’avoir notamment accès à des données de marché utiles.


Côté client


2d doc suppose une étape supplémentaire pour vérifier le document : l’extraction des données du document est suivie de l’extraction des données vectorielles du 2d doc, afin de comparer les deux. 


Aujourd’hui Archipels permet au client de vérifier l’authenticité de différents types de documents en soumettant des empreintes numériques via API. La réponse est alors instantanée et binaire, puisque vous saurez immédiatement si le document est authentique ou non.


Vous l’avez compris, Archipels permet de vérifier l’authenticité du document de manière immédiate, mais cela suppose de disposer du document numérique original - le PDF natif issu de l’espace client du partenaire émetteur. À l’inverse, la vérification via 2d doc peut être réalisée sur un document scanné ou photographié si la qualité de l’image le permet. 


En résumé, 2d doc est une solution versatile, utilisable sur différents formats du même document, alors que la solution Archipels apporte une rapidité d’exécution appréciable pour une intégration fluide au parcours client. 


Les outils de signature électronique (et d’empreinte numérique)


Comprendre la signature électronique et l’empreinte numérique


En droit européen, une signature électronique est « une donnée sous forme électronique, qui est jointe ou liée logiquement à d'autres données électroniques et qui sert de méthode d'authentification ».


Commençons par le but de la signature électronique dans le processus de vérification et d’authentification de documents : ce procédé garantit l'authenticité de l'expéditeur du document et vérifie l'intégrité du document.


Grâce à sa fonction de non-répudiation, la signature électronique permet ainsi d'assurer que l'expéditeur a bien envoyé le document, il ne peut le nier.


On peut affirmer qu’un message ou un document est signé dès lors qu’il est accompagné de son empreinte chiffrée à l'aide de la clé privée de l'émetteur. Concrètement, l'empreinte numérique met en œuvre une fonction de hachage, qui consiste à générer un message plus court - l’empreinte - qui change à la moindre modification du fichier original.


Il faut aussi noter que le hachage est à sens unique, puisque l'empreinte d'un fichier ne permet en aucun cas sa reconstitution.


Les limites de la signature électronique


La signature électronique répond donc efficacement aux problèmes qu’elle adresse - à savoir garantir que le document a été signé par la bonne personne et qu’il n’a pas été altéré. Pour autant, ses caractéristiques intrinsèques la rendent inadaptée à certains usages. 


En effet, sa fonction de non-répudiation empêche sa révocation dans le cas où le document ne fait plus foi : une nouvelle version existe et l’on veut s’assurer que c’est bien la dernière version qui est utilisée. Il sera possible d’écrire une nouvelle transaction dans la blockchain Archipels qui viendrait ancrer la preuve horodatée que le document n’est plus valide. 


Enfin, la signature électronique comme solution pour garantir l'intégrité d’un ensemble de documents peut s’avérer rapidement coûteuse. La solution Archipels a été pensée pour remédier à ce problème. Notre plateforme permet de vérifier qu’un document n’a pas été altéré tout en rémunérant le signataire de ce document. 


Les solutions Open API 


Définition de l’Open API et de l’Open Banking


Dernière grande solution technologique de vérification de documents, l’Open API, souvent liée à l’Open Banking. De quoi parle-t-on ?


La DSP2 a imposé aux banques de développer au moins 3 APIs réglementaires : agrégation de comptes, initiation de paiement et couverture de solde.


Ici, nous parlons de l'open banking qui fait référence à l'utilisation des Open APIs permettant à des développeurs tiers de créer des applications et des services autour des institutions financières.


Côté banque, c’est une solution très intéressante et performante pour authentifier un profil et vérifier sa solvabilité. Cela offre une vision d’ensemble et en temps réel de la gestion de l’argent d’une personne en permettant notamment de voir les impayés, les découverts, etc.


Comme le Credit Score largement répandu aux Etats-Unis et inscrit dans les mœurs, l’Open Banking a pour vocation l’attribution d’une note, un score afin de catégoriser chaque client selon le niveau de risque qu’il fait porter à la banque. 


Un problème majeur d’intrusivité


En utilisant les identifiants de connexion des individus, les technologies de vérification basées sur le modèle de l’Open API et de l’Open Banking se révèlent très intrusives. En effet, elles donnent tout simplement aux établissements bancaires et financiers un accès intégral à des données financières particulièrement sensibles. 


En effet, l’utilisateur, en donnant accès à son compte bancaire, va révéler des informations utiles. Ainsi, s’il s’agit de son compte dépositaire, le montant de ses revenus va y figurer.  Les établissements utilisant l’Open Banking vont ainsi pouvoir vérifier sa solvabilité et donc sa capacité à rembourser un emprunt. 


En plus de son revenu, l’utilisateur va donner accès à l’intégralité des opérations qui apparaissent sur son compte - à savoir le montant et le lieu de toutes ses dépenses - des informations personnelles, considérées par beaucoup comme confidentielles. 


Archipels certifie uniquement les documents que l’utilisateur final choisit de fournir lors de l’entrée en relation client. 



Qu’il s’agisse de 2d doc, de la signature électronique ou de l’Open API, chaque solution a ses avantages et inconvénients. Quand la plupart permettent une versatilité améliorée et un partage d’informations facilité, peu d’entre elles assurent une vraie traçabilité de l’utilisation des données personnelles. 

Archipels permet une vérification instantanée de l’authenticité du document et de son intégrité. Notre solution garantit la confidentialité des données tout en rétribuant l'émetteur du document.