Privacy

Banking Due Diligence: a reminder of the rules

Globe icon

The obligation of vigilance on the part of banks is the subject of extensive case law. Here are the current rules applicable to institutions.

What is bank customer due diligence?

Banking liability implies a duty of care. This takes several forms.  

Firstly, the obligation of banking vigilance within the meaning of Articles L561-1 and 2 of the Monetary and Financial Code is aimed at combating money laundering and terrorist financing for the benefit of TRACFIN. 

There is also a whole body of case law relating to a broader obligation of vigilance and surveillance to be practised with regard to the clientele of an institution. On the basis of this case law, without violating the principle of non-interference in his client's affairs, the banker is required to alert him to " any apparent anomaly " relating to the management of his account. The case law does not expressly define the anomalies concerned, but the examples that emerge from litigation are, in general, "formal and material" anomalies (erasures or overwriting of documents), suspicions of illegal transactions, suspicions of fraudulent transfer orders (a phenomenon that has been on the rise in recent years due to the ease of usurping an identity via the Internet) or suspicions that a loan has not been used for the purpose agreed by the parties to the contract. 


Banking Due Diligence and KYC 


Indeed, when a bank customer is the victim of a fraud falling under one of these anomalies, he or she can initiate civil proceedings and try to hold the bank liable for failure to comply with its duty of care (lack of warning, lack of confirmation of identity before carrying out a transaction). 

In these regulatory conditions, where the obligation of vigilance is being reinforced and there is an increase in litigation on this subject, the KYC process takes on its full importance (link to the article on client onboarding). It allows the bank to authenticate its customer, but also to get to know him better. The KYC data provides concrete and refined support to meet the obligation of vigilance and banking supervision. 



The main obligations of the bank, in brief


  1. The duty of loyalty and information :
  • Conveying all the information needed to understand a banking product or service


  1. The duty of care :
  • Detecting and reporting anomalies 


  1.  The obligation of non-interference :
  • Not to interfere in the affairs of its client, either by inquiring on its own initiative or by carrying out transactions directly on the client's account


  1. The duty to warn :
  • Identify the customer's profile and financial situation before any proposal/acceptance to sell a product/service, especially in the context of a loan (borrower profile)
  • Warn the client of the possible consequences of his choices, in view of his profile


  1. The duty of bank secrecy :
  • The bank is not allowed to disclose certain information to third parties (except in exceptional cases, such as legal proceedings, or at the request of certain authorities such as the Banque de France or the AMF).

Politique de confidentialité

Obligation de vigilance bancaire : rappel des règles

Globe icon

L’obligation de vigilance bancaire fait l’objet d’une jurisprudence dense. Voici les règles actuelles applicables aux établissements.

Qu’est-ce que l’obligation de vigilance bancaire ?

La responsabilité bancaire implique une obligation de vigilance. Celle-ci prend plusieurs formes.  

En premier lieu, l’obligation de vigilance bancaire au sens des articles L561-1 et 2 du Code monétaire et financier vise la lutte contre le blanchiment d’argent et le financement du terrorisme au bénéfice du TRACFIN. 

Il y a également toute une jurisprudence relative à une obligation de vigilance et de surveillance plus large à pratiquer au sujet de la clientèle d’un établissement. Sur la base de cette jurisprudence, sans violer le principe de non-ingérence dans les affaires de son client, le banquier est tenu de l’alerter de « toute anomalie apparente » ayant trait à la gestion de son compte. La Jurisprudence ne définit pas expressément les anomalies concernées, mais les exemples qui ressortent des contentieux sont, de manière générale, des anomalies « formelles et matérielles » (ratures ou surcharges sur les documents), des soupçons d’opérations illicites, des soupçons de fraude aux ordres de virement (phénomène en hausse ces dernières années du fait de la facilité d’usurpation d’une identité via Internet) ou encore des soupçons de non-utilisation d’un prêt à l’affectation qui a été convenue par les parties au contrat. 


Obligation de vigilance bancaire et KYC 


De fait, lorsqu’un client d’une banque est victime d’une fraude relevant de l’une de ces anomalies, il peut entamer une procédure civile et tenter d’engager la responsabilité de la banque pour non-respect de son obligation de vigilance (absence de mise en garde, absence de confirmation d’identité avant d’opérer une transaction). 

Dans ces conditions réglementaires où l’on observe un renforcement de l‘obligation de vigilance et une hausse des contentieux à ce sujet, le processus KYC prend toute sa place (mettre un lien vers l’article onboarding client). Il permet à la banque d’authentifier son client, mais aussi de mieux le connaître. Les données du KYC apportent un appui concret et affiné pour répondre à l’obligation de vigilance et de surveillance bancaire. 



Les principales obligations de la banque, en bref


  1. L’obligation de loyauté et d’information :
  • Transmettre toutes les informations nécessaires à la compréhension d’un produit ou d’un service bancaire


  1. L’obligation de vigilance :
  • Détecter les anomalies et les dénoncer 


  1.  L’obligation de non-ingérence :
  • Ne pas intervenir dans les affaires de son client, soit en s'informant de sa propre initiative, soit en réalisant directement des opérations sur le compte du client


  1. Le devoir de mise en garde :
  • Identifier le profil du client et sa situation financière avant toute proposition/acceptation de vendre un produit/service, notamment dans le cadre d’un prêt (profil d’emprunteur)
  • Mettre en garde le client des éventuelles conséquences de ses choix, au regard de son profil


  1. Le devoir de secret bancaire :
  • La banque n’est pas autorisée à divulguer certaines informations aux tiers (sauf exception, comme une procédure de justice, par exemple ou sur demande de certaines instances comme la Banque de France ou l’AMF).